top of page

Center line; IN or OUT?

  • Writer: Ben Lacy
    Ben Lacy
  • May 2, 2023
  • 1 min read

Updated: Oct 31, 2024

Letter to "Ask the Ref"


My ball hit the center line when I served and the opposing team called it out; I disagreed. Who's correct?

Robert


Ben's Response: Thank you for that very commonly asked, but frequently misunderstood question. As I go forward with "Ask The Ref," I will always refer to the current rulebook, including chapter and verse, to clearly show that my answers are not just my opinion, but are in fact related to one or more specific rules. To your point, the rule related to your question Is a served ball that hits the centerline in? has been in the rulebook since the earth cooled, so it still amazes me that some people fail to wrap their brains around this very straightforward concept. According to rule 2.B.4. Service Court. The area beyond the NVZ on either side of the centerline, including the centerline, sideline, and baseline. Notice the that 2.B.4. includes "including the centerline". This means that regardless of which service court is being served to, the center is part of that service court. If the ball on a serve hits that line, it is IN regardless of which service court is being served to. I hope that helps and keep the questions coming. Ben

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating

Southern Pickleball Academy is a 501(c)(3) Public Charity

Copyright © 2022 -2025. Southern Pickleball Academy.

All rights reserved. EIN: 92-0510304

404 Key Ave. New Ellenton SC 29809

GuideStar_edited.jpg
  • email_icon
  • LinkTree
  • Instagram
  • alt.text.label.Facebook

Southern Pickleball Academy has earned the Platinum Seal of Transparency, the highest level of recognition offered by GuideStar, the world's largest source of nonprofit information. This prestigious achievement demonstrates our commitment to complete transparency and accountability to our community and supporters.

GuideStar's Highest Seal of Transparency

bottom of page